Saturday, January 14, 2012

Reading - Hopkins and Dickens

Amid all the school work - and the sickness that now has me on antibiotics - I did manage to squeeze in some good reading.

First up was Exiles, by Ron Hansen, and interesting account of Fr. Gerard Manley Hopkins and the five nuns that became the inspiration for his poem, "The Wreck of the Deutschland." I've always enjoyed historical "fiction," and this gave me some insights into his life. Good read.


I also just finished (while sitting in the doctor's waiting room) The Man Who Invented Christmas, by Les Standiford. It's an account of Dickens' writing A Christmas Carol, and the effects it had on his career and how the book helped to revive the celebration of Christmas. Also a good read - especially for fans of Dickens and Christmas (like me).

Two thumbs up.

Now, more Chesterton essays.

Pax et bonum

1 comment:

Barb, sfo said...

I'm not big on poetry, but I do have a soft spot for Hopkins. Just put "Exiles" on reserve at the library! I'm always looking for something good to read, so when there's a recommendation, I check into it.